Beta · Literature search and summary

Topical pain relief products

Ingredients, label cautions and kidney-related evidence.

51 products · Select a product for label details

Absorbine Jr · Extra Strength LinimentMenthol 4.0%; chloroxylenol 0.5%.Other ingredientsDiscontinued in Canada

Canadian market status

  • DIN 01942271 · Health Canada status: Cancelled Post Market. Status date: January 31, 2026. Health Canada, n.d.-a
  • Unexpired stock may remain in distribution after manufacturer discontinuation if cancellation was not for health or safety reasons. Check the package DIN and expiry. Health Canada, n.d.-a
Label details & sources

Health Canada, n.d.-a

Absorbine Jr · Original LinimentMenthol 1.25%; chloroxylenol 0.5%.Other ingredientsDiscontinued in Canada

Canadian market status

  • DIN 01942301 · Health Canada status: Cancelled Post Market. Status date: June 30, 2025. Health Canada, n.d.-b
  • Unexpired stock may remain in distribution after manufacturer discontinuation if cancellation was not for health or safety reasons. Check the package DIN and expiry. Health Canada, n.d.-b
Label details & sources

Health Canada, n.d.-b

Aspercreme · 10% (Stella)Trolamine salicylate 10%.Trolamine salicylateDiscontinued in Canada

Canadian market status

  • DIN 00486884 · Stella Pharmaceutical Canada Inc.. Health Canada status: Cancelled Post Market; status date: August 13, 1998. Health Canada, n.d.-c
Label details & sources

Health Canada, n.d.-c

Aspercreme · Creme Rub 10%Trolamine salicylate 10% w/w.Trolamine salicylateDiscontinued in Canada

Canadian market status

  • DIN 02074710 · Sanofi Consumer Health Inc.. Health Canada status: Cancelled Post Market; status date: July 29, 2014. Health Canada, n.d.-d
Label details & sources

Health Canada, n.d.-d

Aspercreme · Extra Strength Creme Rub (Stella)Trolamine salicylate 15 % / G (registry wording).Trolamine salicylateDiscontinued in Canada

Canadian market status

  • DIN 00625035 · Stella Pharmaceutical Canada Inc.. Health Canada status: Cancelled Post Market; status date: August 13, 1998. Strength is transcribed as “15 % / G” from the registry; no conversion is made. Health Canada, n.d.-e
Label details & sources

Health Canada, n.d.-e

Aspercreme · Extra Strength Creme Rub 15%Trolamine salicylate 15%.Trolamine salicylateListed as Marketed

Health Canada, n.d.-f

DIN 02074702 · Sanofi Consumer Health Inc.. Health Canada status: Marketed; status date: November 19, 2011. The indexed record does not confirm current pharmacy stock. Keep separate from US lidocaine products and earlier cancelled DINs.

Ben-Gay · Ice GelMenthol 2.5%.Other ingredientsDiscontinued in Canada

Canadian market status

  • DIN 02230265 · Pfizer Canada Inc., Consumer Healthcare Division. Health Canada status: Cancelled Post Market; status date: August 2, 2001. Health Canada, n.d.-g
Label details & sources

Health Canada, n.d.-g

Bengay · Extra Strength Ice CreamMenthol 100 mg/g.Other ingredientsDiscontinued in Canada

Canadian market status

  • DIN 02241251 · Pfizer Canada Inc., Consumer Healthcare Division. Health Canada status: Cancelled Post Market; status date: January 30, 2006. Health Canada, n.d.-h
Label details & sources

Health Canada, n.d.-h

Bengay · Muscle Pain No OdourTrolamine salicylate 15%.Trolamine salicylateDiscontinued in Canada

Canadian market status

  • DIN 02230266 · Johnson & Johnson Inc.. Health Canada status: Cancelled Post Market; status date: July 27, 2012. Health Canada, n.d.-i
Label details & sources

Health Canada, n.d.-i

Biofreeze · Pain Relief GelMenthol 4% w/w.Other ingredients

RB Health (Canada) Inc., n.d.

The Canadian manufacturer lists no NSAID or salicylate in this gel. Check other Biofreeze formulations separately.

Deep Relief · Ice Cold GelMenthol 2.0%.Other ingredients

Health Canada, n.d.-j

NPN 01914634. Menthol is the sole listed medicinal ingredient. Trolamine is listed as non-medicinal; it is not trolamine salicylate.

Deep Relief · Lidocaine gelLidocaine 4%.Other ingredients

The Mentholatum Company of Canada, Limited, n.d.

Local anaesthetic. Ingredient listing verified; full dosing and renal review not included.

Deep Relief · Warming Heat Patch (NPN 80092251)Methyl salicylate (listed as methyl 2-hydroxybenzoate).Methyl salicylate

Health Canada, n.d.-k

This patch lists methyl salicylate. The registry entry does not provide its strength; check the package.

Icy Hot · Original BalmMenthol 7.6%; methyl salicylate 29%.Methyl salicylate

Icy Hot, n.d.-a

Contains methyl salicylate; check the exact formulation within this brand.

Icy Hot · Original Pain Relief CreamMenthol 10%; methyl salicylate 30%.Methyl salicylate

Icy Hot, n.d.-b

The cream belongs in the salicylate group.

InflaFlex · Provider compounded creamKetoprofen, diclofenac, amitriptyline, baclofen, lidocaine, menthol and camphor.NSAID

Compounded cream

  • Formula: Confirm the dispensed ingredients and strengths with the compounding pharmacy. InflaFlex, n.d.
  • Systemic exposure: No human exposure data identified for this combination in the review.
Label details & sources

InflaFlex, n.d.

Contains two NSAIDs. Exact-combination exposure is not established; confirm composition with the dispensing pharmacy.

Brochure formulation: Ketoprofen 7%; diclofenac 3%; amitriptyline 3%; baclofen 10%; lidocaine 4%; menthol 0.15%; camphor 0.15%. Percentage basis and salt details require pharmacy confirmation. InflaFlex, n.d.

Base: Proprietary transdermal emulsion base; composition undisclosed. InflaFlex, n.d.

Renal precautions: No product-specific PK data or guidance on renal contraindications, dose adjustment or monitoring was identified in this review. Exposure cannot be estimated from commercial gels or summed NSAID percentages. Review the other active ingredients separately. InflaFlex, n.d.

KaLaya · 6X Extra Strength Pain Relief CreamMethyl salicylate 11%; Arnica montana flower extract 5%; menthol 4%; camphor 4%; methyl sulfonyl methane (MSM) 1.5%; Eucalyptus globulus leaf oil 0.5%.Methyl salicylate

Label cautions

  • Label restrictions: Do not use with external heat, bandaging, on damaged skin, or with an Asteraceae/Compositae/daisy-family allergy. KaLaya, n.d.-b
  • Consult before use: Consult a healthcare professional before use with anticoagulants, in pregnancy or while breastfeeding. KaLaya, n.d.-b
Label details & sources

KaLaya, n.d.-b

Verified against the Canadian manufacturer’s 400 g page. MSM is medicinal; hemp seed oil is non-medicinal. Verify other creams, gels, foams and sprays separately. No product-specific exposure estimate was identified.

KaLaya · Extra Strength Pain Relief Cream with Cannabis Sativa Seed OilMethyl salicylate 11%, arnica flower extract 5%, menthol 4%, camphor 4%, eucalyptus leaf oil 0.5%, as listed for this variant.Methyl salicylate

KaLaya, n.d.-a

Contains methyl salicylate alongside hemp seed oil. Verify the separate 6x cream, gel, foam and spray individually.

Lakota · Extra Strength Roll-OnCapsicum annuum (fruit) 0.035%; menthol 3.0%, as listed.Other ingredients

Lakota, n.d.

The manufacturer calls the ingredient Capsicum annuum; no additional capsaicin standardization is inferred. Verify other topical variants separately.

LivRelief · Extra Strength Chronic Angry Pain Relief CreamCapsaicin 0.075%; rutin 0.4%.Other ingredients

LivRelief, n.d.

Verified for this cream only. Other formulations and comparative efficacy were not assessed.

Myoflex · Regular / Extra / Maximum StrengthTrolamine salicylate: 10% / 15% / 20% w/w, respectively.Trolamine salicylate

Health Canada, n.d.-l

The handout calls this methyl salicylate. Trolamine salicylate and triethanolamine salicylate are names for the same ingredient. The DPD resolves conflicting duplicate text on the Extra Strength manufacturer page.

Neuragen · GelEssential oils and homeopathic ingredients.Other ingredientsCurrent Canadian label not confirmed.
Label details & sources

2017 Canadian record: Lavender essential oil 20% (w/w); geranium essential oil 21% (w/w); bergamot essential oil 10% (w/w); eucalyptus essential oil 11% (w/w); tea tree essential oil 10% (w/w). Homeopathic ingredients, each 12C: Aconitum napellus, Hypericum perforatum, Lycopodium clavatum, Phosphorus, Rhus toxicodendron, Secale cornutum. Health Canada, 2017a

NPN 80039423. Health Canada’s September 2017 extract listed this licence as Active. Current formulation and market status remain unconfirmed; no discontinuation record was verified.

Product source for Neuragen · Gel
Neuragen · OilEssential oils and homeopathic ingredients.Other ingredientsCurrent Canadian label not confirmed.
Label details & sources

2017 Canadian record: Lavender essential oil 28% (v/v); geranium essential oil 28% (v/v); bergamot essential oil 14% (v/v); eucalyptus essential oil 14% (v/v); tea tree essential oil 14% (v/v). Homeopathic ingredients, each 12C: Aconitum napellus, Hypericum perforatum, Lycopodium clavatum, Phosphorus, Rhus toxicodendron, Secale cornutum. Health Canada, 2017a

NPN 80039462. Health Canada’s September 2017 extract listed this licence as Active. Current formulation and market status remain unconfirmed; no discontinuation record was verified.

Canadian retailer listing: Lavender and geranium oils 28.29% v/v each; bergamot, eucalyptus and tea tree oils 14.14% v/v each. These differ from the 28% (v/v) and 14% (v/v) values in the 2017 extract. Pharmacy For Life, n.d. Health Canada, 2017a

Comparison: Both list the same six homeopathic ingredients at 12C. The difference in reported precision does not establish reformulation. The retailer text has no label revision date and is not a confirmed current Canadian label. Pharmacy For Life, n.d. Health Canada, 2017a

Product source for Neuragen · Oil
Neuragen · Pain Relief CreamEssential oils and homeopathic ingredients.Other ingredientsCurrent Canadian label not confirmed.
Label details & sources

2017 Canadian record: Lavender essential oil 6% (w/w); geranium essential oil 6% (w/w); bergamot essential oil 3% (w/w); eucalyptus essential oil 3% (w/w); tea tree essential oil 3% (w/w). Homeopathic ingredients, each 12C: Aconitum napellus, Hypericum perforatum, Lycopodium clavatum, Phosphore, Rhus toxicodendron, Secale cornutum. Health Canada, 2017a

NPN 80049085. Health Canada’s September 2017 extract listed this licence as Active. Current formulation and market status remain unconfirmed; no discontinuation record was verified.

Product source for Neuragen · Pain Relief Cream
Pennsaid · Canadian topical solutionDiclofenac sodium 1.5% w/w.NSAIDSpecific renal contraindications

Label contraindications and monitoring

  • Contraindicated: Severely impaired or deteriorating renal function (CrCl <30 mL/min), or known hyperkalemia. Knight Therapeutics Inc., 2025
  • Concurrent NSAIDs: Also contraindicated with other NSAIDs. See the full label for other contraindications. Knight Therapeutics Inc., 2025
  • Monitoring: Monitoring is required with lesser renal impairment. The label advises considering lower doses with great caution but provides no numerical renal adjustment. Knight Therapeutics Inc., 2025

Canadian label dose

50 drops per knee 3 times daily OR 40 drops per knee 4 times daily; maximum treatment duration 3 months, continuous or intermittent. Knight Therapeutics Inc., 2025

Adults ≥18; pediatric use contraindicated. Lower starting dose may be considered for older/frail patients under close supervision; no numerical reduction supplied. Knight Therapeutics Inc., 2025

Reported systemic exposure

Studied application: 40 drops (approximately 1.2 mL) to EACH knee four times daily Holt et al., 2015

Site / area: Both knees; front, back and sides · Area not reported Holt et al., 2015

Healthy adults aged 18–55; randomized open crossover · 7.5 days; steady-state results on day 8.

Topical AUC · 0–24 h
353.78 ng·h/mL mean; SD 174.93 Holt et al., 2015
Oral AUC · 0–24 h
4426.01 ng·h/mL mean; SD 2793.74 Holt et al., 2015

Oral comparator: Sandoz diclofenac sodium: methods say delayed-release; Table 4 says SR (sustained release). Unresolved source inconsistency. 75 mg twice daily. Holt et al., 2015

Study context, not dosing advice. These results do not establish kidney safety or equivalent pain relief.

Study details and exposure comparison
Label details & sources

Knight Therapeutics Inc., 2025

Its Canadian renal contraindications differ from those of Voltaren; review the exact label.

Non-medicinal ingredients: Dimethyl sulfoxide (DMSO), ethanol, glycerine, propylene glycol, purified water. The current Canadian composition table does not quantify DMSO. Knight Therapeutics Inc., 2025

Renal precautions: Explicit contraindication: severely impaired or deteriorating renal function (creatinine clearance <30 mL/min). Known hyperkalemia is also contraindicated. Lesser impairment requires monitoring. Consider lower doses with great caution in impaired renal function; no numerical renal adjustment. Consider SCr, CrCl, urea and electrolytes including potassium; periodic monitoring in those at hyperkalemia risk. Reduced perfusion/volume, heart failure, liver dysfunction, diuretics and older age increase concern. CrCl <60 mL/min (or 1 mL/sec) appears as a cardiovascular/renal risk factor, not as an additional absolute contraindication. Knight Therapeutics Inc., 2025

Rub·A535 · Arthritis Flare-Up Relief CreamArnica montana extract 25%; methyl salicylate 23%.Methyl salicylate

Church & Dwight Canada Corp., n.d.-a

Contains methyl salicylate as well as arnica.

Rub·A535 · Arthritis Pain Relief Roll-On LotionTriethanolamine salicylate 10%, menthol 1.25%, capsaicin 0.035% (w/w).Trolamine salicylate

Church & Dwight Canada Corp., n.d.-b

The handout groups this under methyl salicylate. The current Canadian roll-on lists triethanolamine salicylate.

Rub·A535 · Back Ice to Heat Relief PatchesCapsaicin 0.002%; menthol 0.39%.Other ingredients

Church & Dwight Canada Corp., n.d.-c

No NSAID or salicylate listed for this exact patch. Check other Rub·A535 patches separately.

Rub·A535 · Injury Ice Relief GelMenthol 4% w/w.Other ingredients

Church & Dwight Canada Corp., n.d.-d

No NSAID or salicylate listed among the medicinal ingredients.

Rub·A535 · Injury Ice to Heat Relief CreamMethyl salicylate 15.0%, camphor 3.0%, menthol 3%, eucalyptus essential oil 1.5% (w/w).Methyl salicylate

Church & Dwight Canada Corp., n.d.-e

Different from Injury Ice Relief Gel.

Rub·A535 · Muscle & Joint Extra Strength Heat CreamMethyl salicylate 21%, camphor 4%, menthol 3%, eucalyptus essential oil 0.75% (w/w).Methyl salicylate

Church & Dwight Canada Corp., n.d.-f

Rub·A535 · Muscle & Joint Maximum Strength Heat CreamMethyl salicylate 30%; eucalyptus essential oil 3%.Methyl salicylate

Church & Dwight Canada Corp., n.d.-g

Rub·A535 · Muscle & Joint No Odour Extra Strength CreamTriethanolamine salicylate 20% w/w.Trolamine salicylate

Church & Dwight Canada Corp., n.d.-h

Rub·A535 · Muscle & Joint No Odour Regular Strength CreamTriethanolamine salicylate 13.3% w/w.Trolamine salicylate

Church & Dwight Canada Corp., n.d.-i

Contains triethanolamine salicylate despite the “No Odour” name.

Rub·A535 · Muscle & Joint Regular Strength Heat CreamMethyl salicylate 12.5%, camphor 3.0%, menthol 1.25%, eucalyptus essential oil 0.5% (w/w).Methyl salicylate

Church & Dwight Canada Corp., n.d.-j

Rub·A535 · Sensitive CreamArnica montana extract, equivalent to 25% arnica flower tincture.Other ingredients

Church & Dwight Canada Corp., n.d.-k

Formerly shown on the manufacturer’s Natural Source Arnica page. The current listing is Sensitive Cream; ingredient identity does not establish effectiveness or CKD safety.

Salonpas · 12 Hour patchMethyl salicylate 10.0%; menthol 3.0%.Methyl salicylate

Hisamitsu America, Inc., n.d.-a

Separate from the Original and HOT patches.

Salonpas · Gel-Patch HOTCapsicum extract 0.025% as capsaicin; menthol 1.25%.Other ingredients

Hisamitsu America, Inc., n.d.-d

Additional formulation missing from the handout.

Salonpas · HOT patchCapsicum extract 0.025% as capsaicin.Other ingredients

Hisamitsu America, Inc., n.d.-b

No NSAID or salicylate listed for this exact patch. Contains natural rubber latex.

Salonpas · Jet SprayMethyl salicylate 10%; menthol 3%.Methyl salicylate

Hisamitsu America, Inc., n.d.-a

Salonpas · Pain Relieving CreamLidocaine HCl 4%; benzyl alcohol 10% (w/w).Other ingredients

Hisamitsu America, Inc., n.d.-c

Canadian labelled uses are minor skin pain and itching; benefit for joint or neuropathic pain is not established by this listing. Do not use in large quantities or over a large body area.

Salonpas · Pain Relieving PatchMethyl salicylate 10.0%, menthol 6.0%, camphor 3.1% (w/w).Methyl salicylate

Hisamitsu America, Inc., n.d.-e

The handout calls Salonpas trolamine salicylate. The current individual product page lists methyl salicylate. Older comparison pages show different strengths; match the actual package.

Salonpas · Pain Relieving SolutionLidocaine HCl 4%; benzyl alcohol 10% (w/w).Other ingredients

Hisamitsu America, Inc., n.d.-f

Canadian labelled uses are minor skin pain and itching; benefit for joint or neuropathic pain is not established by this listing. Do not use in large quantities or over a large body area.

Tiger Balm · Muscle & Tension LotionMethyl salicylate 20%; dl-camphor 10%; l-menthol 5%.Methyl salicylate

Haw Par Healthcare Limited, n.d.-a

Match the exact Canadian formulation. The brand includes both salicylate and other products.

Tiger Balm · Pain Relieving Patchdl-Camphor 230 mg/patch; l-menthol 70 mg/patch; capsicum extract 46 mg/patch.Other ingredients

Haw Par Healthcare Limited, n.d.-b

Contains capsicum extract; the listed extract mass is not the capsaicin mass.

Tiger Balm · Red OintmentCamphor 11%; menthol 10%.Other ingredients

Haw Par Healthcare Limited, n.d.-c

Match the exact Canadian formulation. The brand includes both salicylate and other products.

Tiger Balm · Ultra Strength OintmentMenthol 11%; camphor 11%.Other ingredients

Haw Par Healthcare Limited, n.d.-d

Match the exact Canadian formulation. The brand includes both salicylate and other products.

Tiger Balm · White OintmentCamphor 11%; menthol 8%; cajuput oil 13%; clove bud oil 1.5%; dementholised mint oil 16% (manufacturer listing).Other ingredients

Haw Par Healthcare Limited, n.d.-e

Canadian White / Regular Strength ointment. The manufacturer lists these ingredients together without distinguishing medicinal from non-medicinal ingredients on this page. Keep this formulation separate from Red, Ultra Strength and Muscle & Tension Lotion.

Voltaren Emulgel · Extra Strength 2.32%Diclofenac diethylamine 2.32% w/w.NSAID

Label cautions

  • Label contraindications: Concurrent oral NSAIDs or other diclofenac products; NSAID hypersensitivity; last trimester of pregnancy; use following CABG. Haleon Canada ULC, 2026b
  • Application: Use only on intact skin, within label dose and duration limits. Avoid large areas and airtight dressings. Haleon Canada ULC, 2026b

Canadian label dose

2 g in the morning and 2 g in the evening; maximum 4 g/day over ALL affected areas. Beyond 7 days only if recommended by a doctor. Haleon Canada ULC, 2026b

Indication for adults 18–65 years; no authorized indication for >65 years or <18 years. This is distinct from a contraindication. Haleon Canada ULC, 2026b

Reported systemic exposure

Studied application: 2 g twice daily Haleon Canada ULC, 2026b

Site / area: Same ankle · ≈400 cm² Haleon Canada ULC, 2026b

Healthy men and women; randomized open crossover · 7 days; day-7 assessment.

Topical AUC · 0–24 h
67.9 ng·h/mL geometric mean; range 38.2–255.2 Haleon Canada ULC, 2026b
Oral AUC · 0–24 h
2830 ng·h/mL geometric mean; range 249–5955 Haleon Canada ULC, 2026b

Oral comparator: Voltaren diclofenac sodium 50 mg tablet; release type not specified in the retrieved VOPO summary. 50 mg three times daily. Haleon Canada ULC, 2026b

Study context, not dosing advice. These results do not establish kidney safety or equivalent pain relief.

Study details and exposure comparison
Label details & sources

Haleon Canada ULC, 2026b

Canadian extra-strength gel. Its labeled regimen and exposure records remain separate from Regular Strength.

Non-medicinal ingredients: Butylhydroxytoluene, carbomer, cocoyl caprylocaprate, diethylamine, fragrance, isopropyl alcohol, liquid paraffin, macrogol cetostearyl ether, oleyl alcohol, propylene glycol, purified water. Haleon Canada ULC, 2026b

Renal precautions: No explicit numeric renal contraindication or renal dose adjustment identified in this monograph. The monograph does not require laboratory monitoring for response or adverse reactions and describes renal-impairment effects on PK as unlikely to be clinically significant. No dedicated CKD/post-AKI PK study is supplied. Large-area/prolonged use may increase systemic effects. Haleon Canada ULC, 2026b

Voltaren Emulgel · Regular Strength 1.16%Diclofenac diethylamine 1.16% w/w.NSAID

Label cautions

  • Label contraindications: Concurrent oral NSAIDs or other diclofenac products; NSAID hypersensitivity; last trimester of pregnancy; use following CABG. Haleon Canada ULC, 2026a
  • Application: Use only on intact skin, within label dose and duration limits. Avoid large areas and airtight dressings. Haleon Canada ULC, 2026a

Canadian label dose

2–4 g for approximately 400–800 cm², 3–4 times daily; no more than 4 applications in 24 h. Beyond 7 days only if recommended by a doctor. Haleon Canada ULC, 2026a

Adults and adolescents ≥16 years; usual adult dosage in geriatrics. Haleon Canada ULC, 2026a

Reported systemic exposure

Studied application: 4 g three times daily Haleon Canada ULC, 2026a

Site / area: Not reported Haleon Canada ULC, 2026a

Healthy volunteers; randomized open 3-way crossover · 7 days; final morning administration on day 7.

Topical AUC · 0–24 h
179 ng·h/mL geometric mean; range 51.8–332 Haleon Canada ULC, 2026a
Oral AUC · 0–24 h
1360 ng·h/mL geometric mean; range 327–4690 Haleon Canada ULC, 2026a

Oral comparator: Voltaren diclofenac sodium enteric-coated tablet. 25 mg three times daily. Haleon Canada ULC, 2026a

Study context, not dosing advice. These results do not establish kidney safety or equivalent pain relief.

Study details and exposure comparison
Label details & sources

Haleon Canada ULC, 2026a

Canadian regular-strength gel. Its labeled regimen and exposure records remain separate from Extra Strength.

Non-medicinal ingredients: Carbomer, cocoyl caprylocaprate, diethylamine, fragrance (containing benzyl benzoate), isopropyl alcohol, liquid paraffin, macrogol cetostearyl ether, propylene glycol, purified water. Haleon Canada ULC, 2026a

Renal precautions: No explicit numeric renal contraindication or renal dose adjustment identified in this monograph. The monograph does not require laboratory monitoring for response or adverse reactions and describes renal-impairment effects on PK as unlikely to be clinically significant. These are label statements, not findings from a dedicated CKD or post-AKI trial. Large-area/prolonged use may increase systemic effects. Renal failure reports also appear in the overdosage section. Haleon Canada ULC, 2026a

Zostrix HPCapsaicin 0.075% w/w.Other ingredients

Health Canada, n.d.-m

No NSAID or salicylate listed. Regular Zostrix is a separate formulation; check its strength.